SACRAMENTO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 1112 I Street #100 Sacramento, California 95814 (916) 874-6458

May 2, 2012

TO: Sacramento Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Ron Greenwood, Chairman, Special District Advisory Committee

RE: <u>Special District Advisory Committee - Confirmation of Candidates</u>

RECOMMENDATION

I respectfully recommend confirmation of all seven nominations to this Committee.

BACKGROUND

The Special District Advisory Committee was established by our Commission on October 1, 2003. The SDAC consists of a minimum of nine, but no more than seventeen, committee members, including the Alternate, and two Special District Commissioners. It is the intent of our Commission to have a diverse representation of Special Districts on the committee. The committee includes representatives from recreation and parks, fire, water, flood control/reclamation, and other types of Special Districts (SMUD, Resource Conservation, CSD, etc.). Applicants must sit as current Board members on a Special District in Sacramento County, and must be nominated by their respective Board. Committee members will serve with no LAFCo compensation. Each committee member will serve a two-year term. Terms are staggered over a period of two years. Committee members are selected by the SDAC Nominating Committee, and must be confirmed by your Commission.

Information sharing is among the most valued elements of the SDAC. Accomplishments of the SDAC include the development of the Bylaws of the Advisory Committee, formulation of an equitable cost sharing formula for the Special District share of funding for the Commission, enhanced criteria for Special District representation during city-county property tax exchange agreement negotiations, and streamlining of the Special District Commission member selection process.

CANDIDATES RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION

Office A: 1/12-12/13 Nominations	District
Duane Anderson	Rio Linda Elverta Recreation & Park
Michael Clohossey	Del Paso Manor Water District
Warren Harding	Arden Manor Recreation & Park
Robert Harrison	Fulton-El Camino Recreation & Park
Rich Lozano	Cosumnes Community Services District
Thomas Nelson	Florin Resource Conservation
Rick Sloan	Cordova Recreation & Park

Office B: 1/11-12/12	
Current Member	District
Carolyn Flood	Fair Oaks Cemetery District
Royce Makishima	Arden Park Recreation & Park District
Ted Costa	San Juan Water District
Dan Speer	Wilton Fire Protection District
Rod Brewer	Cosumnes Community Services District
Jerry Pasek	Rancho Murieta Community Services District

Office C (Commission Appointment Sub-Committee)

Ron Greenwood (Chair) Carmichael Water District
Gay Jones Sacramento Metro Fire District

Jerry Fox Arcade Creek R&PD