SACRAMENTO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

1112 I Street, Suite #100 Sacramento, California 95814 (916) 874-6458 www.saclafco.org

AGENDA

Wednesday, November 3, 2004

5:30 P.M., Board Chambers, County Administration Center, 700 H Street, Sacramento, California

ROLL CALL Commissioners: Illa Collin, Chair; Lauren Hammond, Vice Chair;

Elliot Mulberg, Sophia Scherman, Christopher Tooker,

Charles Rose, and Muriel Johnson.

Alternate Commissioners: John Jachens, Don Nottoli,

Steve Miklos, Jimmie Yee, Gay Jones.

ANNOUNCEMENTS/INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

CONSENT CALENDAR

- 1. Minutes of Meeting of September 1, 2004.
- 2. Claims dated October 29, 2004.

PRESENTATIONS

None

PUBLIC HEARINGS AND ACTION ITEMS

- 3. TOWNE ANNEXATION TO RIO LINDA ELVERTA

 COMMUNITY WATER DISTRICT
 [CEQA: Negative Declaration]

 (11-04)
- 4. SACRAMENTO MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT SPHERE OF INFLUENCE
 AMENDMENT AND ANNEXATION OF SACRAMENTO REGIONAL
 COUNTY SANITATION DISTRICT LOWER NORTHWEST INTERCEPTOR
 SOUTH RIVER PUMP STATION SITE [in Yolo County] (06-04)
 [CEQA: Addendum to Environmental Impact Report]
 [Sch Nos. 2001112085 and 2002092071]

CONDUCTING AUTHORITY PROCEEDINGS

None

SEPARATE ACTION ITEMS

- 5. Sacramento Suburban Water District Request to Amend Resolution No. LAFC 1237
- 6. **DRAFT Del Paso Manor Municipal Service Review**And Sphere of Influence Update [No Action]

INFORMATION/ ACTION ITEMS

- 7. Contract with Cooperative Personnel Services (CPS)
- 8. Monthly Budget Report
- 9. Work Plan Update

REPORTS/QUESTIONS

- 10. Executive Officer
- 11. Commission Chair
- 12. Commissioners
- 13. Commission Counsel

PUBLIC ADDRESSES ON MATTERS NOT ON AGENDA

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

NEXT MEETING: <u>December 1, 2004</u>, 5:30 P.M. Board Chambers, 700 H Street, Sacramento

MAF

(Agenda November 2004)

SACRAMENTO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Wednesday, November 3, 2004, 5:30 P.M., Board Chambers, Sacramento County Administration Center, 700 H Street, Sacramento, California.

Commission: Illa Collin, Muriel Johnson, Lauren Hammond, Charles Rose, Elliot Mulberg, Sophia

Scherman, Christopher Tooker.

Alternates: John Jachens, JimmieYee, Gay Jones, Steve Miklos, Don Nottoli.

Staff: Executive Officer, Peter Brundage; Assistant Executive Officer, Donald J. Lockhart;

Commission Counsel, Nancy Miller; Commission Clerk, Marilyn Ann Flemmer.

SUMMARY OF RULES AND PROCEDURES

The Commission may reschedule items on the agenda. The Commission will hear uncontested matters first, followed by discussions of contested matters, and staff announcements in that order. Anyone who wishes to address the Commission should obtain a form from either the Commission Clerk or from the table at the eastern end of the hearing chamber.

<u>CONDUCT OF HEARINGS</u>: A contested matter is usually heard as follows: (1) discussion of the staff report and the environmental document; (2) testimony of proponent; (3) testimony of opponent; (4) rebuttal by proponent; (5) provision of additional clarification by staff as required; (6) close of the public hearing; (7) Commission discussion and Commission vote.

<u>ADDRESSING THE COMMISSION</u>: Any person who wishes to address the Commission should submit a speaker's request form at the beginning of the meeting; move to the front of the chambers when an item is called; and, when recognized by the chair, state their name, address and affiliation. Please attempt to make your statements concise and to the point. It is most helpful if you can cite facts to support your contentions. Groups of people with similar viewpoints should appoint a spokesperson to represent their views to the Commission. The Commission appreciates your cooperation in this matter.

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT TIME LIMITS</u>: The Sacramento Local Agency Formation Commission welcomes and encourages participation in its meetings. Rules of the Commission provide for the following limitations of discussion: The Commission will hear public comment prior to the consideration of any item. (1) a principal proponent will be allowed a 5-minute statement; (2) other proponents will be allowed a 3-minute statement; (3) opponents are allowed 3-minute statements with the exception of spokespersons for any group who shall be permitted 5-minutes; (4) the principal proponent shall have a 3-minute rebuttal; (5) staff will provide clarification, as required.

<u>VOTING</u>: A quorum consists of four members of the Commission, including any alternate. No action or recommendation of the Commission is valid unless a majority (4 votes) of the entire membership of the Commission concurs therein.

Matters under the jurisdiction of the Commission, and not on the posted agenda, may be addressed by the general public following completion of the regular agenda and any off agenda matters. The Commission limits testimony on matters not on the agenda to three minutes per person and not more than fifteen minutes for a particular subject. The Commission cannot take action on any unscheduled items.